SP-N to quit govt; Minister Yadav to submit resignation today


KATHMANDU: The central Committee meeting of Samajwadi Party-Nepal (SP-N) held today decided to quit the government.

The party’s Vice-chairperson Hisila Yami told THT Online that the meeting discussed the issues regarding Prime Minister’s rejection of the party’s proposal. She said PM Oli rejected the proposal of constitution amendment regarding Tharu’s issues submitted by SP-N Chairman Upendra Yadav, also Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

The meeting held at the party’s central office in Balkumari, Lalitpur decided to quit the government citing the violation of the two-point agreement the party had signed with the government.

Vice-chairperson Yami said that DPM Yadav would submit resignation to the Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli today.

Present in the meeting were Chairman Baburam Bhattarai, senior leader Ashok Rai, Co-chairman Rajendra Shrestha, General secretaries Ganga Narayan Shrestha, Rana Dhwaj Kandangba, and Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav among the party’s other senior leaders and members.

Yadav had signed the agreement with Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Co-chairpersons Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on constitution amendment regarding citizenship issues. Then the PM had given assurance that the constitution would be amended keeping in mind people’s aspirations and the country’s interest.



Follow The Himalayan Times on

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here